About the university

Swansea University is a university located in Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom. Swansea University was chartered as University College of Swansea in 1920, as the fourth college of the University of Wales. In 1996, it changed its name to the University of Wales Swansea following structural changes within the University of Wales. The new title of Swansea University was formally adopted on 1 September 2007 when the University of Wales became a non-membership confederal institution and the former members became universities in their own right.


Modern and cosmopolitan with its waterfront development, caf� quarters and thriving student population, Swansea is also Modern and cosmopolitan with its waterfront Dylan Thomas country, steeped in tradition, culture, and character.

The campus is close to the old fishing village of Mumbles, whose unique seaside atmosphere is complemented by a vibrant social scene popular with students. Travel just a few minutes in the other direction and you reach the Maritime Quarter, a modern waterfront village complete with restaurants, art gallery, theatre and a busy marina.

The 20,000+ seat Liberty Stadium is home to Premiership football club Swansea City and Ospreys Rugby It also hosts major pop and rock concerts.




Swansea University, Singleton Park, Swansea, SA2 8PP Wales, UK

Tel: +44 (0)1792 205678